SOLO!!

Yes, it happened this week, twice in fact!

Some high clouds were present on Saturday morning but luckily they were high enough for VFR flight conditions!

I was met by Mark, a grade II instructor and he informed me that he would be present while I do three landing and take-offs and if he was confident with my ability he would let me go solo.

Naturally, I performed 3 perfect circuits and then I dropped him off on the apron. This is when the nerves started to kick in a bit; I got a lovely weak feeling in my legs. I radioed the air traffic control and informed them that I would be doing my first solo now. Mark was sitting in the control tower with his binoculars. I asked him to let me know after what my radio voice sounds like. Out of the corner of my ear I heard ATC instruct me to hold short of the main taxi way, why I did not know, I just held short and waited!

When I got to the runway and started performing my “What to do last checks” (Check the wind, set the transponder to altitude, align the direction indicator to the runway heading, and finally turn on the landing lights) I was READY!! Everything came naturally and was executed perfectly as I would in the cockpit of a 737-800

I did one circuit and then did a full stop landing. “Now what” I asked myself? Do I wait for Mark to hop back in, do I go and park, what do I do? I remembered, vaguely, that fuel would be low so I taxied to the fuel bay to refuel. I was beyond overjoyed. After 26 years of craving this, I had finally achieved it. Solo at only 13.8 hours!! Photos were taken, ice cold water was dunked over me (a tradition, I assume to cool one down, well one’s head and bring you back down to earth   ). Sunday was another day for me to fly solo, I had to refuel the plane first; however, and that waste of time only enabled me to do one more circuit by myself. I would probably judge my landing on the Sunday as one of the worst ever but I don’t think anyone noticed

My solo anniversary is on the same day as one of my best friend’s wedding anniversaries, a very special day indeed!

My flight was so much more than what I expected and now I want to fly even more, if that was even possible before!!

 

ImageImageImageImageImage

Tags: , , ,

About aviationobsessedrambling

Im one of the lucky ones, I found my dream at the age of 8. Getting into the avaition industry has been a long journey for me, but I finally started that journey this year. Currently busy with my student license heading to my CPL. An Industrial Engineer by profession, a pilot wanna-be ALWAYS. Watch this space...

2 responses to “SOLO!!”

  1. Rob says :

    Well Done! You take me back to 1966 when I did my first Solo at Grand Central in ZS DWC.

Leave a Reply

