The first of 8 theory exams

It’s almost weekend again and that means flying again!! BUT, weather looks horrible today, a lot of low cloud and wind. I am of course hoping that tomorrow morning all is clear.

In the meantime I have started studying for my first PPL Theory exam. I have chosen to write, Principles of Flight, first. Being an Engineer it should not be too tough yet there are a lot of terms that I have to get a grip on. Like a servo tab etc, I am familiar with a trim tab (which relieves the back pressure on the yoke) but a servo tab hmmm.

The booking process is/was quite a struggle. I have to fill out a form with the CAA (Civil Aviation Authority) and pay R70 for the exam. Sounds simple enough but when you email them the confirmation you get a message back right away saying that the recipient’s mailbox is full. You then go through the telephone calling process and they mention that they can see your email and that the telephone call serves as a confirmation that you will in fact be allowed to sit the exam. Not too comfortable about that, I want written proof.

I think I may be starting to irritate them with my daily phone calls. The exam is scheduled for Wednesday, 27 June 2012 at 08:30. Making some friends at the CAA hopefully too 🙂

I need to achieve 75% or above for the 8 theory exams and pass my flight test after 40 hours to get my PPL.

WISH ME LUCK!!

Tags: ,

About aviationobsessedrambling

Im one of the lucky ones, I found my dream at the age of 8. Getting into the avaition industry has been a long journey for me, but I finally started that journey this year. Currently busy with my student license heading to my CPL. An Industrial Engineer by profession, a pilot wanna-be ALWAYS. Watch this space...

2 responses to “The first of 8 theory exams”

  1. John says :

    Why don’t you write at your flightschool?

Leave a Reply

