Update on the Solo GF and my weather station!

I am progressing nicely with the Solo GF part of my training. I have completed 2.8 hours of the required 5 hours. After the snow storms we had in Johannesburg I was very relieved when all was calm on Thursday!

I briefly saw my dad on Wednesday (he was up for a Hydrology conference). He told me earlier in the week that he had a surprise for me. I was very eager to find out what it was! He bought me my own portable weather station, complete with a weather vane etc. It is totally awesome!! I am still in the process of figuring out how to set it up but it is able to plot temperature/wind/pressure trends on a graph. It measures wind chill, temperature, wind speed, barometric pressure, density altitude, altitude, relative humidity, dry and wet bulb temps etc!

Density altitude and relative humidity are very important measurements for a pilot. Temperature and humidity will influence the density altitude. In hot and humid conditions this density altitude will differ greatly from the true altitude and hence it is obvious why we need to be aware of this. If visibility is bad we may assume that we are at a certain altitude but because of the high temps and high humidity we may be lower than what we think we are at and get a real close up view of a mountain! Relative humidity is also critical in the formation of ice. When humid, cool air flows into the engine ice can easily form and block the airflow.

Thanks dad, that was the best gift ever. I have always wanted a weather station and now I finally have one.

 

Tags: , , ,

About aviationobsessedrambling

Im one of the lucky ones, I found my dream at the age of 8. Getting into the avaition industry has been a long journey for me, but I finally started that journey this year. Currently busy with my student license heading to my CPL. An Industrial Engineer by profession, a pilot wanna-be ALWAYS. Watch this space...

One response to “Update on the Solo GF and my weather station!”

  1. anita says :

    I think these type of frustrations are built into our lives because we need to learn to be patient. Imagine that pilot, was it a Dutch airline , long ago was patient enough to wait for de-icing to be done before takeoff.Well he wasnt and many people lost their lives because of it. A flat battery is not always under your control, and I always believe everything happens for a reason.The sky will always be there waiting for you to come the next time. Good luck with your test tomorrow.Luv u lots. mom

Leave a Reply

