Sim time 1.6 hours of 5

I arrived at the airport this morning and got to the office. I was really looking forward to flying today, well, flying yes, but on a computer hmmmm nope not really that interested. I require a total of 5 hours on the simulator for the PPL. I practiced some instrument flying (only using the instruments in zero visibility). Was ok but missed the “real-feel” though. 1.6 hours later and I was done, I rekon another 2 more sessions then I will have my hours. REALLY looking forward to the cross countries, I’m literally bursting with anticipation. More on that a bit later. I took a quick pic this morning of the sim, as you can see the bare minimums. Still R500ph (about USD70 ph) a bit of a rip off if you ask me, I might as well buy rudder pedals and use my flight sim at home. That wouldn’t be that ethical, would it.

About aviationobsessedrambling

Im one of the lucky ones, I found my dream at the age of 8. Getting into the avaition industry has been a long journey for me, but I finally started that journey this year. Currently busy with my student license heading to my CPL. An Industrial Engineer by profession, a pilot wanna-be ALWAYS. Watch this space...

2 responses to “Sim time 1.6 hours of 5”

  1. anita says :

    Now that u ve shown me the visual of the simulator its quite a disappointment. Maybe we can suggest they put it in one of those childrens airplane models they have at funfairs, the ones that fly arnd on spokes like the one we rode in Disneyland or even like the ones u c in children playgrounds in malls wher u put in a coin for a few minutes of shaking u up nd dwn a bit. Well I guess its still safer than taking off for real nd stil cheaper.

    • aviationobsessedrambling says :

      Yeah it is a bit disappointing! But they use the simulator to test our knowledge of instrument flying when we have to tune the navigation radios so in the beginning he pauses the simulation every now and then but after a while its very natural and quite fun. Amazing to fly in 0 visibility and be able to line the plane up to the runway which you cant see 🙂

Leave a Reply

