Sim time and SAA hmmmm..

I flew another 1.3 hours this morning bringing my total sim time on the Elite to 2.9, another 2.1 to go. Today I mastered intercepting a radial at 60 and 30 degrees. Was quite cool. So what happens is you look on a map to what the NDB’s (Non directional beacon) frequency is, you then Identify the station using morse code and then you finally test the device. After all this is done you are able to navigate to (QDM) or from (QDR) by flying a specific radial. We use this when air traffic control tells us intercept the 260 degree radial QDM. This is pretty awesome as you can find your way in bad visibility (not being able to see the horizon or the ground).

This is what the ADF needle looks like.

 

We use this technique when using VORs as well. With a VOR you want to keep both needles aligned, this way you will be on the correct glideslope and path.

Now, SAA! So due to a lot of bad press which SAA had to deal with in the press recently they decided to lift the ban on white applicants. So perhaps now is the best time ever to apply. I am very excited for some reason, I have been through this before and have just been disappointed countless times so I am taking a huge risk. They requested a whole bunch of documentation from me such as a copy of my log book, my ID, Grade 12 certificate, both degrees and my Student Pilots License. They also required an assignment be handed in. Very exciting indeed!!

I will post a copy of my assignment once the closing date for SAA has lapsed (31 August 2012). Thanks to the editing skills of my grandfather, Ron Wilkinson, my parents and various friends. I believe the assignment is pretty damn good but I am biased of course. Perhaps I should see if I could submit the assignment to a journal.. Will wait for all of your comments first though and then evaluate from there.
Hold thumbs please as I may or may not get very good news soon! Here is hoping…

Tags: , , , ,

About aviationobsessedrambling

Im one of the lucky ones, I found my dream at the age of 8. Getting into the avaition industry has been a long journey for me, but I finally started that journey this year. Currently busy with my student license heading to my CPL. An Industrial Engineer by profession, a pilot wanna-be ALWAYS. Watch this space...

2 responses to “Sim time and SAA hmmmm..”

  1. Lucille says :

    Sien… Ek lees jou blog 🙂 sal duim vas hou!

Leave a Reply

