Finally, the last Solo Nav on Sat and MOCK PPL test completed Sunday (18/11/2012)

After the booking debacle of the beginning of the month I managed to get another few bookings. Saturday presented with near perfect weather with chances of thunderstorms later the afternoon. My 10’o clock booking was safe. I was bursting with excitement to finally finish off my solo nav flights (I needed a total of 5 hours).

The route was from FAGC-FARG (Rustenburg)-FAPN (Pilansberg)-FAGC and would take about 2.1 hours. I once again had the dodgy plane ZS-SCB though and I would get very nervous every now and then when the oil temperature gauge would red-line. When I didn’t experience any engine failure I pushed on (I did richen the fuel mixture to try and cool the engine down a bit, which kind of helped).

I was back in just over 2 hours and managed to snap some pics along the way..

I was still 0.7 hours solo hours short though (PPL Requirements are: 15 Solo hours, 25 dual hours and 5 hours on the sim) and luckily the school had a free plane for me to get the 0.7. SO I was ready, ready for the mock exam. Now, I hadn’t practiced stalls, spins, steep turns or  precautionary landings in about 5 months so I was quite nervous.

Time has run out, will go into detail about the mock in the next post 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About aviationobsessedrambling

Im one of the lucky ones, I found my dream at the age of 8. Getting into the avaition industry has been a long journey for me, but I finally started that journey this year. Currently busy with my student license heading to my CPL. An Industrial Engineer by profession, a pilot wanna-be ALWAYS. Watch this space...

Leave a Reply

