PPL Test, not to be — YET!

Woke up this morning to gorgeous weather with some light cumulus clouds starting to build up. I made my way to the airport and arrived at 0545, my coffee had split on me on the ride to the airport so things were off to a shaky start. I filed the flight plan with ATC and my instructor and I made our was to ZS-SLU. She had to be topped up so after a successful start-up we taxied to the fuel bay, after refueling the problems began. With the master switch on, the key turned to start, no familiar engine sounds greeted me. Something was up, no electronics were working (no radio, lights or flaps not to mention a host of other things). We managed to turn the prop over just so that we could taxi the plane back to a parking bay.

Mark rushed back to the office to see if he could organize another plane, luck was on our side and we managed to amend the flight plan to represent ZS-SCB this time. No fuel was required as the tanks were full already. This time the prop did not want to start even though there was nothing wrong with the electrics. Strike two, that was it. We unbuckled, chocked the plane, tied it down and headed back into the office again. After an hour of struggling that was it, I filled in 2 comment cards for FTS to respond to. FTS is currently down 4 or 5 planes, good luck to those folk who want to fly today. Maintenance seems to be a huge issue at the company, all we have been doing is noting down faults and issues and the stuff just never gets attended to. Very disappointing to see a school, whose purpose is to provide a safe training environment for future pilots, completely fail in this regard. The school does have the most experienced instructors though, but how are they supposed to operate to such a high level of safety when they have nothing to work with?

So, we will try again tomorrow, the 20th of December at 10:00. I will be at work from 6-9:30 and then from 13:30-16:00. That is not going to be fun, all in the pursuit of our dreams, right?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About aviationobsessedrambling

Im one of the lucky ones, I found my dream at the age of 8. Getting into the avaition industry has been a long journey for me, but I finally started that journey this year. Currently busy with my student license heading to my CPL. An Industrial Engineer by profession, a pilot wanna-be ALWAYS. Watch this space...

2 responses to “PPL Test, not to be — YET!”

  1. Chris says :

    Well structured post and very sad that you didnt get to fly. Nothing thats worth it, is ever easy. So take that as a positive out of all this

Leave a Reply

