First 1.4 hours of 10

My first 1.4 hours as a night pilot (1.2 actual instrument hours) was successful given the situation. Absolutely loved the experience and cant wait to do it again. This was also my first flight with my night rating instructor, Justin.

Once again FTS disappointed but I knew they would let me down again. SCB, as many will remember gave me those battery, radio and numerous other issues near the end of my PPL flying, this time she managed to disappoint yet again.

Night flying is awesome, not much general flying traffic out there and no wind either! There were some thunderstorms about but they were few and far between i had to trust Justin when he issued me with headings to fly. After a few turns, i still had quite a good idea of where i was even though i had a hood on (I could not see out of the cockpit at all, i could only see the instruments ahead of me)

After about 45 mins of practicing steep turns and clean config stalls (without flaps) the next exercise was stalls with flaps, only the flaps would not extend, i immediately thought about my first night landing that i would have to do without flaps! I orbited (flew in circles for about 10 mins while Justin did some troubleshooting). Nope I would have to land with no flaps! Also the cabin lighting does not work on this plane at all so it is mandatory that we carry a head torch as well as a back up one as well.

After what felt like hours Justin had vectored me for final approach and I could remove all my gear, we were coming in fast but i managed to execute a pretty good landing albeit a quarter way down the runway!

My first 1.2 hours of IF will count towards my ATPL πŸ™‚

I took some photos while I was sitting in the plane waiting for it to get dark….

20130130-090142.jpg

20130130-090206.jpg

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About aviationobsessedrambling

Im one of the lucky ones, I found my dream at the age of 8. Getting into the avaition industry has been a long journey for me, but I finally started that journey this year. Currently busy with my student license heading to my CPL. An Industrial Engineer by profession, a pilot wanna-be ALWAYS. Watch this space...

4 responses to “First 1.4 hours of 10”

  1. Chris says :

    Awesome! So planes are also female hey? No wonder it gave you issues

    • aviationobsessedrambling says :

      Yes everyone refers to them as “her” lol, and you do make a point πŸ™‚

      • Anita says :

        I cant think of anything more scary than flying without seeing the ground but i guess this teaches you to trust the instruments. i suppose u cant get out and pull those flaps into poosition?? no simulation needed at this flightschool it seems. all the emergencies are real! love u m

      • aviationobsessedrambling says :

        It wasn’t actually that scary, i was surprised how calm I was. Yeah everyday we fly we are forced to practice an emergency procedure, willing or not we get shoved into that position. I so desperately need one of dads many head flashlights

Leave a Reply

