FTS Bungles up again! No surprise

So no surprise at all but yet I still get so upset!! I was due to fly a night navigation flight tonight, awesome right, well not when you have to rely on FTS’s aircraft! I spent most of the Sunday afternoon planning the route, filing the flight plan etc only to be in the aircraft, which was supposedly in tip top shape. The plane’s landing lights would not switch on! Another frustrating walk to the office to find out that the only other aircraft available did not have all of the standard equipment needed to fly at night, a VOR. Pretty useless since I should be practicing radio navigation on this nav trip. I found out that the Civil Aviation Authority will be conducting a audit on FTS tomorrow. Now I know I have complained about the school so many times before but I did not tip off the authorities.

I have requested that the money in my account almost R4000 be paid back to me before close of business tomorrow, you know just in case. I am very glad to hear though that there are other students who are also not happy with the safety of the schools planes. Lets hope they just get slapped with a fine and ordered to repair the planes so that I can at least get my night rating first, I am only 2 short flights away!

Disappointment! Anyone else experience this at other flight schools?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About aviationobsessedrambling

Im one of the lucky ones, I found my dream at the age of 8. Getting into the avaition industry has been a long journey for me, but I finally started that journey this year. Currently busy with my student license heading to my CPL. An Industrial Engineer by profession, a pilot wanna-be ALWAYS. Watch this space...

8 responses to “FTS Bungles up again! No surprise”

  1. wps says :

    Oh SNAP! I have about R15 000.00 with them at the moment.
    I was taking a mate for a spin at night a few months back, when the landing lights where also not working. This was at about 9pm. So I checked the fuses, and it had popped.
    This was on the cherokee, so you have to replace, not reset the fuses.
    There where no spare fuses as per CAA regulations. So I had to go borrow some fuses from a chopper maintenance hanger that was luckily open.
    All FTS’s aircraft are old and barely airworthy.

    • aviationobsessedrambling says :

      That is totally shocking!! I quotes some laws to FTS But they quick to think up excuses, my two flights last week: the trim would not work on nxo so had to fly for 2 hours, well rather gym for 2 hours, then the lights issue on lak. Luckily you managed to get spare fuses, if it weren’t for the instructors I would’ve left long ago and sent a little email on to the caa as well

  2. anita says :

    Sounds like u dealing with Dept of Health or Dept of Education, not a supposedly professional aviation institution. Let’s hope someone jumps in and corrects these faults which cn cost lives in the long term

  3. Anton Kruse says :

    Sorry to hear about all the trouble you’ve had with FTS. I too trained there and did my PPL test almost 2 weeks ago. I make say I haven’t had the bad luck with the planes that you’ve had. I can’t recall a single time I’ve had to cancel my flight due to a fault with the plane…

  4. Anton Kruse says :

    My plan is to do a conversion onto a Sling 2 in April with JHB Flying Acedemy at Panarama as it is very close to where I live. I’m not mad about doing too much training at an unmanned airfield tho as I don’t want to fall out of practice with my radio work. FAGM is another option for me due to its location (Albeit still flying a C172). If I do go that route, I’m considering Phoebus Apollo…

Leave a Reply

