I am Night Rated!

I now have my night rating! A bit of an anticlimax i must say when I went to go and pick up my rating from the CAA, all it is is a reprint of your original PPL with a extra line under your ratings saying, Night Rating. Haha, yes I know but I was just expecting more 🙂

My test with Barend went very well and the aircraft was in good shape too. Some 1.3 hours of IF again with the hood where I had to track to/from ADFs and VORs, some steep turns, some rate 1 turns some stalls with and without flaps, some unusual attitudes etc. After all of this he took away the hood and I had to navigate back to Grand Central without using any radio navigation instruments. It took me about 3 mins to find my bearings (I realized that he had altered my direction indicator only after I glanced at the compass).

He mentioned a couple of new things which I hadn’t learnt before so that was quite cool as well.

So there folks, I am on my way to the next license, my commercial pilots license! I have a lot of work that lies ahead but each day is more exciting than the previous day and I am loving every minute of it. I will start my hour building by hiring one of FTSs planes, ZS-LAK, this Saturday and flinging my sister and Chris around a bit.

Will need to start looking into cheaper planes to do hour building with R1200 per hour is not cheap!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About aviationobsessedrambling

Im one of the lucky ones, I found my dream at the age of 8. Getting into the avaition industry has been a long journey for me, but I finally started that journey this year. Currently busy with my student license heading to my CPL. An Industrial Engineer by profession, a pilot wanna-be ALWAYS. Watch this space...

One response to “I am Night Rated!”

  1. Chris says :

    Wow!Can you believe it, you are finally there, on the heels of your CPL! Very proud and looking forward to that flight

Leave a Reply

