Hour building, eish it is going slow!

Hour building is progressing slowly but surely! But between the school’s going into maintenance and further maintenance issues with their fleet I have not flown now for 2 weeks. The last mishap was the landing lights being inop on LAK. Now I spoke to the Egyptian pilot just before my flight and he assured me everything is hunky dory, well it wasn’t. After I had spent 2 hours on the pre-flight planning, 30 min driving to the airport, 30 mins of admin I got to the aircraft and true as bob, both landing light filaments were not working. The previous guy also wrote down the wrong hobbs (how the school charges us for the hours). So yeah frustrating was all I could say. Of course there weren’t any other free aircraft available. It seems that 2 of the school’s aircraft were in some sort of mishap as well adding to the lack of aircraft statement.

So yes, the waiting continues. Busy studying for the MET CPL exam which I would really like to write next week.

In other news, SAA’s cadet pilot program came to its conclusion, with not even 1 white male making it through, out of 40. Now why send me to the psych testing last year if they knew this was going to happen? The mind boggles! Goodluck to them! An instructor friend of mine got a job in Indonesia flying the C208 Cessna Caravan, so there is still hope for some of us!

I also got 95% for the Radio Aids CPL Exam, now if anyone still thinks that I am not dedicated enough well..

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About aviationobsessedrambling

Im one of the lucky ones, I found my dream at the age of 8. Getting into the avaition industry has been a long journey for me, but I finally started that journey this year. Currently busy with my student license heading to my CPL. An Industrial Engineer by profession, a pilot wanna-be ALWAYS. Watch this space...

5 responses to “Hour building, eish it is going slow!”

  1. Dave says :

    Good going man… am watching your progress. After my PPL last year, I also got my night rating this year and have just started my CPL. Your results look good. I am looking at doing my first 2 exams in July.

  2. Anton Kruse says :

    Did my conversion onto a Sling2 on Saturday at JFA, Panorama. (JHB South)
    The Sling is the most incredible flying machine. So easy and light on the controls. I’ve never had the feeling that I was really “flying” until my wheels left the ground in the Sling.

  3. Etienne says :

    Sad bud…in this country merit is overshadowed by your skin color…keep your head up…you will get your turn will come! 😃

Leave a Reply

