New Pilot Theory Exam Syllabus

The South African aviation regulations have gone through some significant changes in the past few months, including the launch of their new pilot exam syllabus. The syllabus is based on a mix of JAA (UK), FAA (US), EASA (EU) as well as some local content. I think that this is most definitely a good move albeit a costly move for pilots that are busy with their PPL and CPLs since new study material would need to be purchased.

In my situation I still had 3 theory exams remaining to complete the theory aspect of my CPL. The exams were Instruments, Aircraft Technical and General and Ops/Air law. I knew that it would be a bit of a learning experience to see if my study techniques would need to be changed or not. I am a firm believer in actually understanding the content before attempting to write the tests.

The SACAA published a curriculum which included a whole bunch of new topics for which my FTC notes would not be sufficient at all. I found an incredible resource on the web that helped me understand the new topics as well as the sort of questions to expect. ALOT more understanding is needed to pass the new exams.

You also have 18 months from starting the theory exams to finish all 8. I was starting to get awfully close to this cut-off so I used all our lovely Easter holidays to study study study. I managed to pass Instruments with 80% first time and Aircraft Technical and General with 78% also first time. This was all done in April. I only have Operations/Air law remaining before my June cut-off time.

ATG was by far the most volume to study and this was tremendously gruelling to be honest. I think I now have a fairly good understanding of how the aircraft we love to fly operate so efficiently.. but goodness it was a lot. Too much I think!

I was tempted many times to subscribe to question banks online just to save some time but the resources exist out there on the web to grasp the content that is lacking in the FTC/Avex notes.

So folks one more exam remains, 15 more solo hours and then I will be ready to finally start my Instrument Rating. I was very sad to have missed a trip to Richards Bay with my pilot mates but needed to focus on those exams first.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About aviationobsessedrambling

Im one of the lucky ones, I found my dream at the age of 8. Getting into the avaition industry has been a long journey for me, but I finally started that journey this year. Currently busy with my student license heading to my CPL. An Industrial Engineer by profession, a pilot wanna-be ALWAYS. Watch this space...

2 responses to “New Pilot Theory Exam Syllabus”

  1. Mischa says :

    Did you pass air law? Where can i buy the questions?

Leave a Reply

