IFR Training, First Sim session

Sunday, the 17th of August, marked my first sim session in order to get my CPL/IR/ME license. I was very impressed with Sim Central’s simulator setup at Grand Central, have a look at the pics! I first had to get to grips with a more complex aircraft, one with retractable landing gear and a variable pitch prop.

I did some basic NDB and VOR intercepts during the initial 1.2 hours and luckily I remembered how to do these from my previous sessions way back. The next sim session will cover holding procedures specifically at Wonderboom airport. Exciting stuff!

I decided to re-install Microsoft Flight Simulator X onto my laptop again so that I could practice the holds in my own time and before the next sim session. Needless to say I managed to enter the hold using the sector 2 entry and then executed 3 holds over the NDB at Wonderboom. I was impressed, for a first attempt. There are quite a few checks and briefings one has to do during the approach to the hold as well as when you are in the hold already. All of that ontop of maintaining straight and level and managing your speed!!

I handed in my Cessna 172 RG (C72R) technical exam too so that is out of the way and readies me for the flight in the aircraft after the sim sessions. This plane features a stronger engine, retractable landing gear as well as a variable pitch prop. All in all a more efficient aircraft.

IF training is awesome so far, learning a lot and feeling more and more like a professional pilot ๐Ÿ™‚

Close-up FNPT II The FNPT II Sim

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About aviationobsessedrambling

Im one of the lucky ones, I found my dream at the age of 8. Getting into the avaition industry has been a long journey for me, but I finally started that journey this year. Currently busy with my student license heading to my CPL. An Industrial Engineer by profession, a pilot wanna-be ALWAYS. Watch this space...

One response to “IFR Training, First Sim session”

  1. Etienne says :

    You are doing so well!! I know that the time and money sacrificed will pay off soon! Your passion for flying is what will take you to great heights! Pun intended lol! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

